Dreaming of a New World: Innovation in Journalism

When I told my friend Becky in Los Angeles about my new job as a reporter for a newspaper, she told me it was the perfect job for my confrontational nature.

Yeah, ok. Sure.

Sure, ok. I’ll take it.

“Throughout history, people with new ideas—who think differently and try to change things—have always been called troublemakers.”
― Richelle MeadShadow Kiss

I guess sometimes I am a troublemaker, which makes journalism particularly fun. I haven’t been a reporter for very long, but I’ve learned that the more risks I take, the more truthy, golden nuggets I discover. And the more of those pieces I gather, the more likely it’ll be that I’ll survive in this career and even excel at it one day.

I take my job seriously, but what’s the point of aspiring to excellence if the journey toward that end isn’t an enjoyable, entertaining one.

I particularly enjoy annoying elected officials with pesky questions that I just won’t let go unanswered. I can kill all the flies I want with honey and not vinegar, but I’m still killing flies.

Because at the end of the day, I want things to get better and keeping people informed and educated helps the world get better. But I’m tired of the old way of doing things, especially when  around the world, the news is changing.

I’m thirsty for innovation in this Old World medium, and a bit of bravery gives me a tiny taste of that innovative spirit that drives entrepreneurs to solve problems with limited resources. Innovators, inventors, creators; they’re iconoclasts that tear fruitless systems down to build better systems. I question everything related to the status quo and I long for change on a grand scale.

Print journalism is still hanging on here on Guam, but I can’t close my eyes to what’s happening with journalism in the rest of the world. There are those that cling to the past and long for the glory days of print, when people used to read big, fat Sunday papers filled with advertisements and long-form human interest stories. There’s a place for print, but it won’t be mainstream for very much longer it seems. I embrace that idea and it makes me wish that I could be in the places where incredible, innovative things are happening right now.

But then there are videos like this that give me hope:

What do you think journalism should look like on Guam?

Leave a Reply

