All of the life changes

The last time I wrote, I had recorded and aired the first episode of my radio show Soul Sessions on KPRG Public Radio Guam. I was a reporter for the Pacific Daily News. Oh how things change, and oh how quickly.

Life is a series of natural and spontaneous changes. Don’t resist them; that only creates sorrow. Let reality be reality. Let things flow naturally forward in whatever way they like.   –   Lao Tzu

I was always told that if I set a goal for myself, and I work really hard to achieve that specific goal, I’ll be satisfied.

While that’s good advice, in practice, my life is not so linear. It’s been a series of unmet goals for me, major priority upheavals, and unexpected turns. That’s kind of a chaotic way to lay out the story of a person’s life, but I highly enjoy it. I’ve even learned to embrace the pandemonium. Even with all the ups and downs, twists and turns, I’m proud to say that I’ve always jumped on opportunities that seemed wonderful, even if they weren’t a part of the original plan, and they’ve always led me closer to satisfaction.

Things are starting to harmonize, kind of like an orchestra tuning and eventually coming together in one solid, sustained note. My life is tuning.

I Love Public Radio

Soul SessionsMy show Soul Sessions on KPRG gains new listeners every week, and I’m so glad the radio station lets me do it. The community of radio hosts at KPRG are so supportive and have such great taste. I’ve been inducted into a pleasant and stimulating tribe of folks. Tomorrow I’ll be broadcasting the show live for the first time. I’ve been scared to venture into live radio, but I’m facing that fear and demolishing it.

If you feel like tuning in, you can hang out with me Saturdays from 7 pm to 9 pm on 89.3 fm or www.KPRGfm.com.

Exploring the NightlifeMotown Monday

I mustered up the courage to host a night of curated music at Drop, one of my favorite bars in Tumon. The people that work at Drop are fantastic. My boyfriend and I could talk to Jun, the managing bartender, for hours about vintage cocktails, and I’ve become a regular at Tuesday night’s Jazz on the 2nd Day event with Darryl Taggerty.

Last Monday was my first official gig at Drop, and I’m looking forward to many more nights of tunes and debauchery.

So far, so good. Everything that’s happening has got me feeling pretty confident, but I’m not so comfortable that I’ll stop doing things that make me feel a little nervous. There’s still lots of left turns in the road and I’m ready for every one of them.

Yes Girl.

Yes, Girl!

Leave a Reply

