NaNoWriMo Pro Tip: Absinthe

Public Service Announcement: The following comments are only relevant to those of legal drinking age.

When I was in college, traipsing across Europe on my first backpacking trip, I tried absinthe for the first time in Prague. Prague! Of all places one could drink absinthe, this was the place to drink absinthe.

I walked around the city with my partner in crime, Annie, after having a green shot of the stuff. I was waiting to feel something other than kinda buzzed. I continued to feel kinda buzzed for about an hour… but no green fairy appeared and I was pretty disappointed.

The next time I drank absinthe, I’d just moved into my first apartment in Hollywood, my friend Tyson helped me haul my first real bed into my new bedroom and that was the only furniture I had to my name. I remember lying down on the wood floors of my new bedroom feeling nice and loopy and particularly bohemian.

I also had absinthe-champagne cocktails at a party in a loft in downtown LA while on a date. I was head over heels for the guy even though he was less so for me.

Point being: all absinthe experiences, even if they’re seemingly very small things, are memorable, or at least they should be.

I asked my friends (also anyone listening to my radio show on Saturday) to come hang out with me at my regular Monday gig at Drop in Tumon to write words on keyboards and paper so we could get through our NaNoWriMo word count for the day.

I ordered absinthe, because shoot, that’s what F. Scott Fitzgerald would have done during NaNoWriMo, wouldn’t he? If he didn’t, Zelda definitely would have.

There was no hallucinating, no fairies.

But there was laughter, wild-eyed smiles, words and words and words on a page, mild dancing and thoughts of parrotfish typing on early 1990s personal computers and leaving comments on blogs from their vividly colored coral homes.

It may not have helped the actual novel I’m writing, but it definitely lit some kind of fire in the imaginative parts of my brain, or maybe just relaxed the muscles surrounding those parts.

I’m behind, but that’s okay. I’m having fun and I’m writing and that’s all that I need in my life.

Public Service Announcement: I don’t condone or advocate the consumption of alcoholic beverages or any other type of intoxicant, but I assume the readers of this blog who are of legal drinking age have the ability to make their own decisions and those readers who are younger than 21 years of age are reading this post with prudent consideration of local laws. 

Leave a Reply

