Poetry: Habitat

I submitted a set of poems to a national literary publication earlier today. It’s been a long time coming, but I finally mustered the courage to press the send button. I realized I need to continue practicing. Like immediately.

Unfortunately, I was utterly lacking in the inspiration department. But then I remembered a little thing called Tumblr; I logged on and my problem was almost instantly solved.

Habitat

Here are some of the before and after shots of the place where I live.
As you can see, it used to be a mess.
A real mess.
It’s not 100 percent but I’ve made progress!

I was sleeping on a pile of laundry that hadn’t been washed in several months
Because it was the cleanest thing I owned.
The floor wouldn’t have made a very good bed
Because that’s where the spiders live.

Thousands of them
Baby spiders sleeping on the backs of their eight-eyed mothers.
If you touch them, graze them, breathe too heavily
They will scatter and the floor will seem to move
With the thousands of tiny feet.

The dirty diapers have always been here
But as you can see, i was able to push them into a corner.

Who’s baby? I don’t know.
I threw the corpse away.

You see I’ve made very good progress.

I hope to paint the walls a really cute pink!

Leave a Reply

