My Morning Feminism: Manifesto

Here’s a collection of thoughts that were running through my head when I woke up this morning. When I wrote them down, they felt like a poem to me. Here’s my homage to the Riot Grrrl Manifesto that I only discovered last year.

Manifesto

Because I like painting glitter glue onto empty clear wine bottles
Because I like practicing water aerobics in pools and oceans
Because I like secretly writing poetry about boys and delicate bites of food
Because I like the Valencia Instagram filter
Because I like making collages out of Vogue and Marie Claire magazines
Because I like brushing my dog’s hair and rolling the fuzz into a ball
Because I like taking aimless walks without making eye contact with people
Because I like drinking too many citrus vodka cocktails with girl friends
Because I like serif fonts
Because I like making vegetable soup before the broccoli goes bad
Because I like looking at very attractive gentlemen
Because I like admiring other women for their minds AND their boobs
Because I like the idea of John Keats more than his poetry
Because I like the philosophy of Negative Capability
Because I like Buddhism the best
Because I like making cold brewed coffee
Because I like dreaming about Los Angeles and New York City and Bali and Chiang Mai
Because I like the feeling of triumph after a good evaluation from an employer
Because I like looking at my resume
Because I like tinkering with old, unpublished plays and poems
Because I like remembering good dates with ex-boyfriends
Because I like boxing and standup surfing and competitive dance even though I’ve never tried any of them
Because I like thinking that if I tried boxing, standup surfing or competitive dance, I’d really enjoy it
Because I like punk rock, hip hop, soul, funk, and pop music
Because I like the first three months of a romantic relationship the best
Because I like my mom even though I don’t get along with her all the time
Because I like my grandma even though she didn’t understand me as an angsty teen
Because I like my extended family even though I don’t remember all of their names
Because I like the homes and families I’ve created over the years
Because I like the stamps on my passport
Because I like vegetables and quarter pounders from McDonalds
Because I like having a body and that it’s safe and healthy and formed of many spheres

Therefore

I believe I have rights
I believe I have the right to be a quiet observer of my world
I believe I have the right to pursue any kind of work that pleases and challenges me
I believe I have the right to be forgiven
I believe I have the right to be flawed
I believe I have the right to be included in a sisterhood of girls and women
I believe I have the right to self-care
I believe I have the right to be criticized if the work I do isn’t very good
I believe I have the right to be emotional about criticism
I believe I have the right to try again
I believe I have the right to be completely unmysterious
I believe I have the right to be plain
I believe I have the right to be complex
I believe I have the right to ignore ignorance
I believe I have the right to be compensated fairly
I believe I have the right to wear a burqa if that is how I feel connected to my culture
I believe I have the right to speak Japanese if that is how I connect to my culture
I believe I have the right to wear a head covering for Mass if that is how I connect to God
I believe I have the right to chant Nam Myoho Renge Kyo if that is how I find peace
I believe I have the right to exist without being punished for my existence
I believe I have the right to let go of a patriarchy that punishes me for existing
I believe I have the right to create a world around me that gives me and others happiness
I believe I have the right to live, laugh, love, walk, use the bathroom, practice good hygiene, and enjoy myself unharrassed
I believe I have the right to go to the doctor without anyone knowing what I need to see the doctor for
I believe I have the right to ally with the respectful, kind men
I believe I have the right to stop speaking to people who are hurtful
I believe I have the right to ignore the trashing of women and replace it with laughter
I believe I have the right to express myself through the way I dress, the way I act, the things I say and do, and the artifacts I collect to adorn my life
I believe I have the right to wear clothing without anyone sexualizing me for it
I believe I have the right to be held accountable and judged with fairness if the way I express myself hurts other people
I believe I have the right to any medical procedure that will protect me from illnesses and hardship, including but not limited to birth control, abortion, cosmetic surgery and medical marijuana
I believe I have the right to be pregnant, carry a child to term and care for that child in the best, most healthy circumstances
I believe I have the right to comprehensive sexual education that will inform me about how to give consent, how to put on a condom, and how sexual activity will affect my body and emotions
I believe I have the right to share these rights with other women
I believe all women have these rights, and others that I’m still learning about or haven’t thought about yet

2 thoughts on “My Morning Feminism: Manifesto

    • Sisterhood is something I value more and more everyday, and spaces where women can be together to express themselves without harassment. I’m glad we can make that digital space here Drea! Biba!

Leave a Reply

