My Morning Feminism: Found Poetry

I’m trying to organize some boxes of memorabilia. I’ve been mining the treasure trove of my old poetry.

Here’s a poem I wrote after drinking too much coffee one night in college.

Sleepless

This is not insomnia
This is just
Awake.

I wonder
What the others
Are doing.

A woman
Writes a poem
Struggles with the words.

A woman
Masturbates
Takes pictures to post online.

A woman
Has her space
Fills it with herself.

A woman
Nurses the black eye
She received for overcooking rice.

A woman
Falls asleep
Finishes her tea, falls asleep alone in a warm bed.

Leave a Reply

