To Guam’s Young Actors and Actresses: We Need You!

Dear Youths,

I don’t know why anyone still calls you that. It seems like when people talk about teenagers, young men and women, boys and girls, you’re all lumped into a group known as “youth,” a group that old people everywhere have been concerned about since ever since.

“These youths, playing video games all day, what are we gonna do about them? These youths listening to their strange music. These youths with nothing to do. These youths, they don’t have no respect.”

Sound familiar? Annoying right?

I might seem ancient to a lot of you. Even if I tell you that 1983 was a pretty cool year to be born, chances are you won’t believe me. But hear me out!

While a lot of other people my age are worried about very grown up things, I’m focused on enjoying my life, I’m figuring out how to see more of the world and have more adventures, I’m writing stories, and I’m trying to create more opportunities for other people to be awesome.

I’m talking to you!

I have a feeling that you guys have it pretty rough. There’s a lot expected of you, and maybe you don’t feel like you have a lot of opportunity to express yourself, voice your opinions, share your passions and be awesome. If you’re anything like I was when I was a teenager, I had this crazy idea that I might be brilliant but I was afraid to show off what I could do because I didn’t know if anyone else would understand it. That’s a tough position to be in, especially if you end up thinking that you might actually suck at the thing you love so much.

Baby steps.

It really doesn’t do much good for me to assure you that yes, you are brilliant. Yes, it does get better. Yes, you are an amazing creature with unique ideas that absolutely need to be shared. I can tell you “You’re awesome!” until I’m blue in the face, but that doesn’t really help you create that cool song, fanzine, blog, video or whatever.

What you need is a place to do what you want to do. You need a place that you know is safe, so that you can say and do the crazy, weird things that you were too afraid of doing in front of your parents or your classmates. You need a stage and a spotlight where everyone is going to have to shut up and pay attention to you while you show yourself off — other than on Tumblr and YikYak and SnapChat and Instagram and whatever else you guys are using.

Show the world what you got!

So tell your parents about Island Girl Power’s performing arts summer program. We’re producing a play called “Pulani,” about protecting the environment and Guam’s culture. It has music and magic and wonderful costumes, and we need your awesomeness to make this show as good as it can be. If you’re trying to earn service learning credits at your high school, you might be eligible for credits by participating in this program.

  

Email ddkaoki [at] mac [dot] com or call 689-2654 to find out more information. Or leave a message in the box below. We want to hear from you and we want you to come hang out with us this summer. Don’t wait, the program starts June 8. We need you to shout and sing and play and dance and do whatever you want to do to make this show shine!

Leave a Reply

